TESOL Arabia 2013 Review

21 Mar

After thoroughly enjoying @michaelegriffin ‘s review of the Cambodia TESOL conference, I thought I would steal borrow his format (minus the pretty pictures) for my own conference review.

As this was my first conference in the UAE, I tried to see as much as possible, give a talk, and meet as many people as possible.  With all three goals I was somewhat successful…

Short Version:

A mixed bag.  Definite highlights and lowlights too.  Well worth it if you do your research beforehand.

Medium version:

  • Massive number of sessions across three days
  • Well organized, especially considering the logistics and sheer number of people
  • Self-realization that schmoozing is not my forte
  • Wide variety of presenters
  • Had a great time with a number of local trainers
  • Tons of publishers and stalls if you’re into that kind of thing

Long version:

Presentations I particularly enjoyed:

  • Carolyn Graham – Ok, so I know she’s given that same lecture/handout at least a 1000 times before, but it was still fun to clap and chant and get caught up in her infectious, crazy session.
  • Katie Davies @KatySDavies – A friend and colleague who gave an interesting session on increasing reading speed in academic English.  Unlike many of the talks, it was interactive, specific, and practical.
  • Some Pecha Kucha sessions – As to be expected, they weren’t all great (see below), but a couple of them, related to the free learning movement and aiding gifted learners, encapsulated exactly what I enjoy about the format: minimal text, concision, and a specific topic.

Giving a talk:

This was my first time giving a talk related to teacher training rather than ELT, and while it didn’t go exactly as planned (does it ever?), it seemed to go over pretty well.  The lack of whiteboard made me skip/adapt a couple of tasks and 40 people are a few more than I find comfortable for a workshop, but not a big deal.  A big thank you to everyone who did attend and also to those people who have since contacted me in follow-up.

Meeting people:

Overall, I didn’t get to meet as many people as I would have liked due to the format/my nature (see pet peeves below).  After my talk though a number of interesting trainers from the region came up to chat and I greatly appreciate the show of support.  As well, I did get to spend time with friends and acquaintances who I don’t get to see often enough.  I especially liked getting to know freelance trainier @AnnaHasper and hanging out with @ChrisOzog , @mickeywhist, and Irene Cruickshank.

Pet peeves:

1)      Death by powerpoint: A few sessions I saw had great titles, but upon arrival it soon became clear that the presentation meant reading huge swaths of text off of powerpoint slides.  45-minutes of this is pretty brutal, especially when the slides include a massive number of academic references and quotations.  Even the unintentional irony of Jack C Richards reading his powerpoint on ‘Creativity in Teaching’ did little to cheer me up.

2)      Vague research: I won’t say which talk it was, but if your months of research lead to the conclusion that ‘feedback for teachers is useful’, then you might want to reformulate your initial research questions.  Luckily  was there to ask hilarious/apt questions at the end (Wouldn’t it be demotivating if you received a 0 out of 5 for personality?)

3)      Number of people: Nothing to be done about this one I suppose, but with so many people, it was more difficult to meet people in the common areas than at other conferences.  It was like being in a busy train station.

4)      Rooms: The rooms in no way leant themselves to workshop style talks.  There were dimmed lights, no whiteboards, and crammed rows of sturdy chairs, making monitoring or grouping a challenge.

5)      Random Pecha Kucha’s – I like a strange topic or two, but why do a Pecha Kucha on how British banking practices and Greek drivers make you grumpy?  Really, the topic was ‘Things that make me grumpy’.  6 minutes and 40 seconds I’ll never get back…

6)      Missing the change to meet @tamaslorincz  @chucksandy  – Unfortunately I couldn’t attend the final afternoon and missed the chance to see some of my PLN in action.  A real shame.

 

For next year:

Do better research beforehand to decide what sessions to see, and try to see if I can do a Pecha Kucha presentation.

If you’re planning on going or have any suggestions for what to see, please let me know!

2 Responses to “TESOL Arabia 2013 Review”

  1. Matt Halsdorff April 17, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

    Thanks for this review! As someone who would love to one day have the chance to visit the UAE for a TESOL conference (and as a tourist) this was very helpful…

    • Ben Naismith April 17, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

      Hi Matt,

      Thanks for checking out the blog and I’m glad you found it useful. Hopefully we can meet at a future TESOL Arabia.

      Cheers,

      Ben

Leave a Reply

