Material-phobic Support Group

20 Oct

Disclaimer: Material design really isn’t my thing.  I prefer material-light tasks and I’m not very creative when it comes to material ideas.  Instead, I try to just build up a large mental bank of flexible task types and activities that I can use in all kinds of situations.  There are many amazing material designers out there and I’m happy to rely on their excellent work when I need resources.

With all that said, once in a while I do make a little something.  On my CELTA courses, I like for the tutors to actually teach most of the required ‘observation of experienced teachers’ component.  This is probably a topic for another post sometime, but one consequence is that I think quite a lot about what the trainees will be seeing and what will be most useful for them at different stages of the course.  So while I often have a Dogme or TBL lesson in the latter stages to show alternative approaches/methodologies, on Day 1, I like to have some material as the basis, much like the support they’ll be able to use in their own lessons.

In any case, somehow someone (aka Chris Ożόg) put some of my rare original material up on the IH journal blog.  A big thanks to a CELTA trainee from back in the day who inspired this lesson (I told you I wasn’t creative), Rusty Wienk – I love when trainees go on to bigger and better things in ELT and could end up as my boss one day.

Here’s the link to the journal: http://ihjournal.com/blog If anyone else has any lesson ideas to add, I’m sure Chris would be grateful.

Ok, enough about worksheets.  Maybe the next post will be about CELTA Dogme demos instead.

P.S. Since I also can’t think of any creative image or video to suit this mini-post, here’s a never-ending loop of the rooster from Robin Hood whistling – enjoy!

3 Responses to “Material-phobic Support Group”

  1. Zhenya January 28, 2016 at 3:42 pm #

    Hi Ben

    I enjoy your blog a lot – for example, kept a link to your ‘Blog Like a Boss’ post and re-read it often. Just wanted to drop a line and to say that I share the same training belief re material design – and would love to share/compare the ‘idea bank’ you mentioned. Those ‘flexible task types and activities that I can use in all kinds of situations’ might become a nice blog challenge among the blogging trainers out there.
    Warmly,
    Zhenya

    • Ben Naismith January 28, 2016 at 9:54 pm #

      Hi Zhenya,

      Really happy to hear you enjoy the blog – now if only I could actually get around to posting a bit more often…

      I think it’s a great idea to share these types of activities, especially as I’m more of a collector (i.e. thief) than a creator when it comes to task design.

      In fact, there already is a group doing exactly what you’ve described although I’m not sure they’re active anymore. In any case you might like to check it out and maybe even get it going again. It’s called #ELTFlashmob – here’s a link to the description: https://annloseva.wordpress.com/2013/11/16/the-flashmobelt-movement/

      • Zhenya January 29, 2016 at 11:25 am #

        Thank you for the reply very much – and for the reminder/link. It now ‘clicked’ to me that the FlashmobELT activities can be easily applied to TT 🙂 Well, two heads are always better than one! Looking forward to your new posts – when you have time and inspiration.

Leave a Reply

